Where is she now?

It’s past time I started keeping a proper blog just for my writing. If you’ve heard of me, it’s probably because of my Doctor Who work, but I haven’t written much Who lately. So what am I up to these days?

My science fiction short story “Robbie Can’t Dance” appears this month in Australia’s Cosmos magazine (and on their Web site), a tale of robotics and love (or is it?). This marks my tenth original short story in print. My first ever sale was “The Bicycle Net” (to Interzone, way back in 1997), set in a post-apocalyptic Australia, and the most recent was “Head Case”, published in Cosmos in 2011 – still available to read for free at their Web site.

One of these days, when I have enough decent stories in print, I’m going to pitch an anthology… or dare I publish it myself? Hmm, I have a lot of research to do before I know whether that’s a realistic option or not.

In the meantime, I’ve completed a rough first draft of the original science fiction novel I’ve been working on since – this is not a joke – 1999! Strange Flesh has been through multiple incarnations (and titles) since it began as a proposal for an Eighth Doctor novel. It’s traditional SF in many ways, with spacecraft, interplanetary colonies, and weird alien organisms – although there are no sentient aliens (or are there?), you can tell I loved Larry Niven’s “Known Worlds” tales as a teen.

Right now, though, Strange Flesh is in the “drawer”; I won’t return to it to do rewrites until it’s rested there for a while, so I can see it with fresh eyes. It’ll be a while before I have a draft fit for the eyes of a potential agent. Amongst other projects I have on the go is another novel, with a similar title but a very different style: Strange Device is much more of a science fantasy. Again I guess my adolescent influences are apparent, this time Chris Claremont’s classic time on the X-Men comics.

Earlier this year I finished editing an all-woman anthology for Obverse Books, Liberating Earth. I’m really pleased with the quality and variety of stories in the book! The usual real-world hurdles have delayed its publication, but it’ll be worth the wait. I’ll post here as soon as it’s available.

And now, back to work!

3 thoughts on “Where is she now?

  1. Nenya

    Oh my gosh, you have a blog? πŸ˜€

    I just this last year came across a big stack of Eighth Doctor Adventures novels, and have been working my way through them. (I adore Eight, and unfortunately can’t access the audios well for various reasons.) I quickly realized that my favourite books were consistently those with your name on the cover, so I’ve been keeping an eye out for the ones by you as I work my way through the series. My very favourite, the one I recommend to everyone (especially on grounds of Terrible Things Happening To Eight) is Seeing I, which was emotionally devastating and brilliant. I cry at the end, okay, especially at the scene where he goes and gets his movie costume re-created, only this time more durable and real. And the backrub scene in Unnatural History was exceedingly relevant to my interests, as we say these days.

    I know you wrote these ages ago (I also just unearthed my wife’s copy of the May 1997 issue of Starlog, which included interviews with Tim Russ, Claudia Christian, and you talking about writing Vampire Science) but to me they’re brand new and I thought you might want to hear from someone who’s still enjoying them all these years later!

    Anyway, hi! πŸ˜€

    Like

    Reply
    1. kateorman Post author

      Cheers Nenya! It all seems so long ago… it’s lovely that people keep discovering the books for the first time. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

